The Asian-Pacific Association of Banking Institutes (APABI) is a semi-formal and non-profit association established in 1986 by 11 banking institutes (founding members). It currently counts 21 banking institutes in the Asia-Pacific Region as its members. APABI plays an important role in bringing together specialist training institutes sharing a common goal, to equip banks and financial institutions with the capacity to deal with the transformational developments shaping the financial sector, supporting the continued renewal of its most valuable asset: human capital. The APABI Executive Committee meets once every two years. APABI has no membership fee or corpus. As such, the members take on the responsibility of organizing its meetings and conferences on a rotating basis. The meetings and conferences have been found useful for the APABI members and also the host institute.

The objectives of APABI:

To promote greater understanding of banking education and training
To promote rapport and cooperation within the industry

The previous host Institutes of the APABI Executive Meeting and Conference are listed below:

  • Singapore flag1986 Singapore
  • HongKong flag1988 Hong kong
  • NewZealand flag1990 New Zealand
  • Malaysia flag1992 Malaysia
  • Indonesia flag1994 Indonesia
  • Austraila flag1996 Australia
  • Thailand flag1998 Thailand
  • Philippines flag2000 Philippines
  • India flag2002 India
  • Taiwan flag2004 Taiwan
  • Korea flag2006 Korea
  • Mongolia flag2008 Mongolia
  • PapuaNewGuinea flag2010 Papua New Guinea
  • Nepal flag2012 Malaysia
  • Malaysia flag2013 Malaysia
  • India flag2014 India
  • Nepal flag2016 Nepal
  • Taiwan flag2018 Taiwan
  • Philippines flag2020 Philippines
  • Mongolia flag2022 Mongolia(Coming Soon)